The Bednest – One Month In (A Review)

 2am. The little one stirs. I lean over to pop his dummy in, which will soothe him long enough for me to get ready to feed him. Once I’m up in a comfortable and safe position, I reach over to pick him up and begin to feed, praying this night waking will be quick and quiet.

I don’t have to reach far for him, I don’t need to lean over too much. He sleeps in a Bednest which we have rented from the Bednest company for six months. It’s attached to our bed and means he sleeps within 30cm of me at all times, give or take a bit of wriggling. 

Tragically, it came to light a couple of days ago that a seven week old baby has died in a Bednest. I can’t begin to understand what that family are going through and my sincerest condolences go out to them. I hugged my little one a bit tighter the night I first read the story. However, after the news broke, what followed was a period of confusion, worry and, sadly, backlash as the company was bombarded with questions from customers about the safety of the product which had been thought of as so trustworthy until now. Despite reassurances from the company about safe usage of the Bednest and their efforts to answer all questions, doubts are still being raised. Amidst the crowd, I sat quietly and watched as it all unfolded on social media and was then compelled by my own experiences to write this review. Bednest are not paying me to write this and all these words and thoughts are my own.

When we found out we were having a second child I immediately started to look around at what options were out there for issues that we had faced and (perhaps naively) just “put up with” when we had our first child. One of those issues was where the baby slept when he was in our room. Our bedroom isn’t big enough for a cot and we had used a Moses basket with our first. However, he was a big baby and ultimately ended up being moved to his own room and cot at just a few months old. 

Determined not to have to move a three month old baby in with his two year old brother (who sleeps amazingly well and has no issues at night, despite us transitioning to a “big boy bed” just weeks before baby number 2’s arrival) I began researching other options that would allow the baby to sleep in our room for longer, should he follow suit and be another big baby.

It was through an ad on Facebook that I came across the Bednest company. I read reviews, googled and googled until I could approach my husband with what I knew was a viable option. 

The Pro’s:

  • It’s bigger than a Moses basket, without being too big for our bedroom. 
  • It attaches to our bed, making night wakings easier to deal with especially if I’d needed to have an emergency caesarean. 
  • We could rent one for the duration we needed it and they would take it away again after – no storage needed or worry about trying to sell it on. 
  • It had a side which could be used fully up, fully down or halfway. This swung it for me. It seemed such a good idea and so ingenious when I thought of how often a baby needs tending to. Now I even had the option of looking after my baby while still lying down! Think of all those precious zzzzz’s!!

I showed YouTube videos to my husband which explained the Bednest’s features and he too was won over. We ordered one.

I was so excited about the arrival of our hired Bednest. When I was scheduled for an early induction I got in touch with the company to change the delivery date (something they did happily and free of charge) and when it arrived I was able to set it up myself, even at nearly 39 weeks pregnant. It was so simple to put together that once I’d read the instructions I was too excited to wait for my husband to get home. I wanted to see what it looked like in our room and imagine a baby sleeping in it!

Our baby boy is now nearly four weeks old and so, whilst we haven’t yet used the Bednest to it’s full extent, it is already earning it’s money back in usefulness and flexibility. 

Though our boy is yet to sleep three hours in a row, we’ve used every feature of the Bednest whilst we figure out how our baby best likes to sleep. We’ve explored tilting the bed, to see if it helped with the wind he often gets at night. I’ve enjoyed being able to nurse while lying down and then almost seamlessly move him to his own safe sleep space. I’ve loved being able to sleep so close to him, to reach over to put his dummy in when he stirs without really needing to move, and to gaze at him at my own eye level while he sleeps.

Despite the recent news stories, I wouldn’t hesitate to order another Bednest should we need one (though there is no intention that we will!!) I’m sure that as the next few months pass, the Bednest will continue to prove invaluable to us as a family. I fully intend to write another review at the end of our rental period but for now we have only positive things to report. 

Thank you, Bednest, for making the first month of our newborn’s life that little bit easier. The sleepless nights are made better ever so slightly by your product and I look forward to the sleepFULL nights that are to come, knowing that my child sleeps safely in your beautiful, practical product.

As ever, thanks for reading! All shares, likes, comments and retweets are very much appreciated. Come find me on Facebook at Facebook.com/mumwriting or on Twitter at @mumwriting. With any product, I can’t stress enough how important it is to do your own research before purchasing. My opinion is only one of many. Do take the time to go and read others. Again, these are my opinions and I am in no way affiliated with Bednest, I am just a happy customer. My thoughts and prayers are with the family of the baby who passed away in this tragic accident. 

Leave a Reply

