Mother’s Day – The morning after…

This was my second ever Mother’s Day as a mum. Last year my lie in got invaded by a snuggly, milky baby. This year, I got my lie in (until 8:30am!) but it was only because I had a poorly little boy who needed his sleep!! Unfortunately Mother’s Day didn’t see the best of my little one (too many sniffles and coughs) and being a fingernail away from being classed as “full term” for this pregnancy, I can’t say I was in the best form either!! So we were a pair together really, wallowing in each other’s misery and discomfort. 

Luckily, thanks to my husband and family, we ended up having a really lovely afternoon with a lot of nice food and chat which made all the difference. 

As much as I love the calendar holidays (Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Valentines Day, etc.) they are, after all is said and done, just another day on the calendar. And just another day when my boy doesn’t feel well and we spend more time wiping tears and noses than giving cuddles or dancing. We can’t help what day these things happen on. Sometimes we get I’ll on Christmas Day and there’s nothing you can do about it. It doesn’t matter. There are more days to be grateful or to celebrate. 

I hope your Mother’s Day was good and you got to celebrate. BUT if you didn’t, then don’t worry. There are plenty more days to celebrate with family. 

My little boy has just woken up from his nap and seems much perkier after medicine from the doctor so it looks like we’re on the up at this end! Full term tomorrow for me so panic stations at the ready – baby number two will be here any day… 

Thanks for reading! Come find me for a chat over on Facebook at Facebook.com/mumwriting or on Twitter at @mumwriting and let me know how your Mother’s Day went! 

Leave a Reply

