The Stomach

IMG_3879 (2)

The Stomach. Is that one up there mine, is it not mine? Maybe I’ll never tell you. Maybe you’ll never guess. Maybe you’ll try to guess and get it wrong. But isn’t that the dream?

Yeah, I know, I know. Stretch marks are something to be proud of – to cherish and own because they prove that you carried your child for nine months and that is one heck of an achievement. I follow the Instagram account @loveyourlines and it is beautiful. I cannot stress enough how beautiful it is and how proud so many women are of their bodies.

But you see Cave, and Warrior and all these other fitness schemes make it so hard to be proud of excess weight. Slimming World and Weight Watchers are giving it to you from the other side. If it’s not the muscle it’s the pounds, if it’s not the pounds it’s the fitness. And I can’t get my head around any of it.

It comes at us from so many angles. And that stomach is why. Because before children stomachs like those are all over the place. Then you have a kid and you maybe make it back to that… almost. Then you have another and maybe another after that.

And it’s not about the weight. Yes, I snack a lot whilst pregnant. Yes, it worries me – not enough to stop me but it does cross my mind. But what it’s really about is being a good mum after you’ve given birth. Weight or no weight, being a good mum comes first. Always.

Sometimes it worries me to say that I want that stomach back (yes, it’s mine). It worries me because I don’t want to place The Stomach on a higher priority than my children. Cave, Weight Watchers, whatever…

So I’m reaching out – help me keep my children first. And help me to be proud of my body and what it’s done and is doing. But help me get The Stomach too. And mostly help me to keep those things in the right priority order.

Because I want to be a good mum.

And then I want to feel proud of myself.

And then I want The Stomach.

Thanks for reading! Come find me on Twitter at @mumwriting or Facebook at facebook.com/mumwriting. All of this is so new to me but the encouragement, the likes, shares, retweets and comments all help and make me smile! Thanks guys. There’s lots of good blogs on this link down beneath as well 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Stomach

  1. This is such a good post! I relate completely. It’s so hard sometimes to proud of my pudgy, stretch mark lined stomach, even though I know that I should be. It housed two babies only 15 months apart! I love my boys more than anything, but I see old pictures of myself on the beach and I love that old stomach too, lol. Thank you for being honest and writing about this! It’s nice to know others feel the same way. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love that you’re celebrating your body in this post – and there’s so much to be proud of! A body that has carried you, supported you and birthed a baby – how amazing is that! But of course it’s only natural when we’re surrounded by (photo-shopped) images of women with flat stomachs all the time to feel like we should aspire to something more too. I try to focus on having a healthy, fit and strong body but I have to admit, I do hark back to those bikini-clad days sometimes too! Fab, honest post x

    Like

Leave a Reply

